Guilford Green Foundation celebrated this year’s leadership and service award winners at the annual Gala in April, which raised more than $160,000 to support the foundation’s endowment and operations, as well as provide grants to worthy nonprofits.


Visionary Award

The Visionary Award is our most prestigious honor, given to an individual who has championed the vision of a better world for the LGBTQ community.

2017 – Matt Hirschy

Past Winners:

2016 – Christopher M. Srgo
2015 – Ron Johnson
2014 – Lee Carter
2013 – Bob Page
2012 – Ellen “Lennie” Gerber & Pearl Berlin

Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award is given to an individual who has provided years of outstanding service to the local LGBTQ community.

2017 – Tony Doles

Past Winners:

2016 – Rev. David Fraccaro
2015 – Jeff Thigpen
2014 – The Quaintance Family – Dennis, Nancy, Kathleen and New Dennis
2013 – Ivan Canada
2012 – Annette Green

Distinguished Leadership Award

The Distinguished Leadership Award is given to an individual who has demonstrated outstanding leadership for a specific event, project or situation.

2017 – Nick Wilson

Past Winners:

2016 – Michelle Kennedy
2015 – April Parker
2014 – The Carignan-Parker Family – Shana, Megan, and Jax
2013 – Rev. Michael Usey & Rev. Julie Peeples
2012 – Andrew Spainhour

Dawn S. Chaney Award

2017 – Marikay Abuzuaiter